NEW: Removing a Klip, dashboard or data source from the Library

Deleting assets from the Klipfolio Library

The Klipfolio Library acts as a container for all your Klips, dashboards, and data sources. As an administrator, you are responsible for managing these assets. In order for a user to be able to delete an asset from the Library, one of the following conditions must be true:

  • The user must be assigned the administrator role.
  • The user must be the owner of the asset.
  • The user must have the appropriate delete permissions as part of their assigned role. For  example, delete a Klip, delete a tab, or delete a data source. As well, the user must have share right permissions to the asset that includes the ability to edit the asset.

Finding assets

One important aspect to asset management is the ability to quickly locate an asset. You can do this by either typing in a name or part of a name in the Find box. For example, for the Google Analytics Klipstart version 2 dashboard, you can do a search for v2 in the Find box to find all related klips and data sources. Alternatively, you can find an asset by selecting a specific column header.  By selecting a column header, assets can be arranged in alphabetical order either by name, asset type, or owner.

You can select one or more assets from the Library. A Klip or data source will not be deleted in the event that a klip already exists on another dashboard, or that a data source is already in use by another klip.

Deleting a Klip, dashboard, or data source

Perform the followings steps to delete one or more assets from the Klipfolio Library.

  1. From the main Dashboard, click Library.
  2. Select the appropriate asset tab. Options include: Klips, Dashboards, or Data sources.
  3. Select the name or names to delete.
    Important: Narrow down your search by using the Find box located at the top-right of the screen.
  4. Select the Delete button when you are ready to delete the selected items.
    You will be immediately asked whether you want to proceed with the deletion process.

    • Note: If you have chosen to delete a dashboard, you are given the option to delete this dashboard only or to delete this dashboard and its klips and data sources.

  5. After you have confirmed you want to proceed, the selected assets are permanently removed from the Library.

After an asset is deleted from the Library, it can not be restored.

Related links

Dashboard management

  1. Beta: Free public links
  2. Publish links
  3. NEW: What’s the difference between viewing a dashboard in the app and viewing a published link to a dashboard?
  4. Use RiseVision to display your Klipfolio dashboard on big screen TVs or digital wallboards
  5. Updates to Klipfolio user permissions
  6. Generate a Klipfolio API Key
  7. Push API deprecation, October 30, 2015
  8. Klipfolio is rebranding
  9. NEW: Best Practices for Large Screen Dashboard Display
  10. Guide to displaying Klipfolio Dashboards on a Large Screen Display
  11. Dashboard design considerations
  12. NEW: Working with Company Properties
  13. Authenticating with Google
  14. Adding a custom role and users
  15. Adding new users
  16. Annotations
  17. Building dashboards
  18. Checklist for adding new users
  19. Creating groups and setting default dashboards
  20. NEW: Removing a Klip, dashboard or data source from the Library
  21. Displaying Klips in full screen mode
  22. Downloading a Klip to your computer
  23. Downloading a dashboard and all of its Klips to your computer
  24. Whitelist IP Addresses
  25. Emailing a Klip
  26. Emailing a dashboard and all of its Klips
  27. Sending Scheduled Email Reports of Klips with variables
  28. Embedding a Klip into an HTML page
  29. NEW: Best practices for generating PDF reports
  30. Options for launching Klipfolio
  31. Removing a user from a custom role
  32. Removing a custom role
  33. Setting up an IP address range in Klipfolio
  34. Sharing data sources
  35. Sharing Klips
  36. Sharing dashboards
  37. Dashboard permalinks
  38. User properties
  39. User roles and access permissions
  40. Viewing data source failures and refresh history for an account

Feedback and Knowledge Base