About Seats and Users
What are Klipfolio Seats?
That’s a good question and fortunately, we have the answer. When you buy Klipfolio Seats you are actually buying capacity. Seats are allocated to users as needed. So let’s say you rent an airplane with the capacity to transport up to 10 passengers. The seats in the airplane are similar to Klipfolio Seats: they represent capacity.
Okay, I get what a seat is, but what is a user?
We knew you’d ask that question! A user is a unique individual that is granted access to Klipfolio. Going back to our airplane analogy, the passengers that will occupy the seats in the airplane are similar to Klipfolio Users: they represent the individuals who will access the dashboard.
For information on user roles and access permissions, see our knowledge base article.
What if I have more seats than users?
For future allocation, customers often buy more seats than they have users. To take advantage of volume pricing, it may be worthwhile considering your future needs and buying more capacity than you need presently. This is kind of like when you buy those handy packages of seats offered to frequent fliers by airlines.
Can I have more users than seats?
No, it is not possible to have more users than seats. Think of the airplane again. If an airline oversells seats, the extra passengers have no where to sit. When you have more users than seats, you need to add more seats.
About adding and deleting seats and users
Is Klipfolio so awesome that it offers a discount for volume purchases?
Yes, we sure do! You may want to add more seats to take advantage of the Klipfolio discount. When you buy 10 seats, for example, you pay $15 per user instead of $20. See our Pricing page for more information.
How do I add or delete seats?
Sign in to your Klipfolio account and under the Company tab, click Plan to update the number of seats associated with your account.
What if I add seats in the middle of the month?
If you add seats in the middle of the month, your payment is prorated accordingly. You can add seats at any time: At the beginning middle, or end of your billing period.
For example, let’s say you have one seat on a monthly plan and then you add a second seat in the middle of the month. The full rate for one seat is $20. However, since it’s the middle of the month, you will only be charged $10 (plus tax) immediately. At the beginning of your next billing period, the payment will be $40 to reflect two seats.
What happens if I delete a seat?
Regardless of when you delete the seat, your total payment will be reduced at the beginning of your next billing period. We do not offer credits for deleted seats. If you reduce the number of seats associated with your account, you reduce your capacity.
What happens if I delete a user?
The number of seats associated with your account is not affected when you delete a user. If you take a passenger off the plane, you still have the available seat/capacity. You can add a new passenger to take that place immediately. If you no longer require that number of seats, then you can fly a smaller plane. When you reduce the number of Klipfolio seats associated with your account, you reduce your capacity. When you reduce seats, the change is reflected on your next bill.