New Klipfolio Payment System Offers Greater Flexibility to Partners

Gain control of your payment options and seat management


Klipfolio’s new payment system allows partners to easily update their plan, purchase seats, add users, and sign up for additional services.


In the new system, your selected options and seats are viewable from Account > Company > Plan. On the Plan screen, you immediately see the options you have subscribed to and the number of seats you have purchased. You can also adjust your plan, add seats and select add-ons from this page. Any additions you make are effective immediately.

Payment system highlights


Payment options:


  • Ability to pay by credit card including American Express

  • Ability to switch between the Basic and Preferred program (see the Plan page for  details)

  • Ability to reduce the number of seats or remove an add-on service (reductions to your bill are reflected at the beginning of the next billing period).

For more details on managing your parent and client accounts, see the following sections below:

  • Adding Seats to your Parent account

  • Adding Seats to a Client account

  • Adding Users to a Parent account

  • Adding Users to a Client account

  • New development options for working with client accounts

  • Billing management



New Plan page options

Seat Management:


If adding seats to your Parent account:


  • When you add seats to your plan, you increase the supply of seats that you can allocate to your Clients. (Any unallocated seats remain with the parent account). For example, if you add 10 seats to your supply, you now have 10 seats that you can allocate to a Client or for internal use. NOTE: This is a change from the previous system, where seats must be allocated immediately to specific Clients. With the new system, seats will first be allocated to the Parent account, and can then be added to a Client.

  • If you remove seats from the Partner account, your supply of seats is reduced (you will not be able to reduce below what you have already allocated to Clients or from what you use internally).


Tip: What is the difference between Seats versus Users?


When you buy Klipfolio seats you are buying capacity. Customers buy seats that they can then allocate to users as needed. Let’s say you rent an airplane with the capacity to transport up to 10 passengers. The Seats in the airplane are similar to Klipfolio Seats: they represent capacity. The passengers that will occupy those seats are similar to Klipfolio Users: they represent the individuals who will access the dashboard.


If adding seats to a Client account:


  • When you add a seat to a Client, you are taking one seat from your supply and allocating it to the Client. The Client can use this seat to add a user to their account. This assumes you have available seats that have not already been allocated to other Clients and which have not been taken by users in the Parent account.

  • If you do not have any available seats in your Parent account, the system notifies you that your plan will be updated (prorated to the end of the current billing period) accordingly with the new fee applying at the start of the next billing period.  You also have the option to cancel. Essentially this means that you will have added a seat to the supply in the Parent account and allocated it to this Client in one action.

  • If you remove a seat from a Client, it is returned to your supply and is immediately available to re-allocate to another Client (or to use internally).  This means it will not reduce your overall supply of seats. Reducing your supply of seats can only be done in the Plan page for the Parent account.


The image below illustrates what happens when adding Seats to Clients. In Scenario 1 (moving from box 1 to box 2), the Partner has 100 seats with only 75 seats allocated and wants to allocate 15 more seats while adding a new Client.  No problem!


In Scenario 2 (moving from box 1 to box 2), the Partner has only 10 seats available, yet wants to allocate 15 seats while adding another new Client. As described above, Klipfolio will expand the supply of seats in your Parent account by the required amount and allocate them to the Client.

Greater flexibility when adding users


If adding users to your Parent account:


  • If you have enough available seats, your request to add users is processed immediately.

  • If you don’t have enough available seats, the system will notify you that your plan will be updated (prorated to the end of the current billing period) accordingly with the new fee applying at the start of the next billing period. You also have the option to cancel before the next billing period.


If adding users to a Client account:


  • If you are signed in to a Client account through your Parent account, you can add users to the account if you have enough seats in the Client to cover the new users. The change is effective immediately.

  • If you don’t have enough available seats in the Client, but do have unallocated seats in your Parent account, the system will allocate a new seat from the Parent to the Client and you can add the new user effective immediately.

  • If you don’t have enough available seats for the same Client and do not have any available seats in the Parent account, the system will notify you that your plan will be updated (prorated to the end of the current billing period) accordingly with the new fee applying at the start of the next billing period. You also have the option to cancel.


Greater flexibility when adding clients


Two new Client Status options in addition to Active and Disabled:


  • Setup Mode - Use Setup Mode for Client accounts that are in development.

    • When this mode is active, only administrators from the Parent account can sign in.

    • Users can’t sign in when this mode is active.

    • Charges for new Client seats in this mode do not apply.  

    • Once a Client leaves Setup Mode, they can not return to this mode.

  • Trial - Use Trial to give your clients hands-on access to their account.

    • Users can be added and removed.  

    • Free for 14 days with the option for the partner to extend by another 14 days.

    • When you are on the Client page in the Partner account, you will see the remaining days in their trial as part of their status.


Billing management:


  • You have the option to specify if you’d like a Client to have billing managed by you, the Partner, or by Klipfolio. (If set to Klipfolio, billing and pricing will be the same as a direct Klipfolio customer. In this scenario, your Client’s seat count will not contribute to your volume discounts and your discounts will not be applied to the Client. However, you will still be able to sign in and manage the non-billing aspects of the account.)

  • If Client billing is managed by Klipfolio, ensure that at least one user in the Client account has Admin privileges or a custom role with 'Manage company settings' enabled. This will allow the Client to see the billing page.

  • If you manage the Client’s billing, but have given the Client permissions to add users, they will receive notification of the update to their plan if they add more users than they have available seats. In this case, since you are managing the billing, the Client will not see the dollar amounts.

  • As soon as you make a Client Active, the seats applied will automatically be added to your plan and are prorated for the balance of your current billing period. The full amount is effective on your next bill.


Learn more


Purchasing a license


Frequently Asked Questions: Users versus Seats


Feedback and Knowledge Base