Sharing dashboards

What's in this article?

  • Learn how share dashboards with groups of users.
  • Assign sharing rights to shared dashboards.
  • Step-by-step instructions.

How to share dashboards

You can share dashboards with different groups that have been set up in your organization. This allows for data experts to set up dashboards and quickly share them with the people that need to monitor that data. As you share dashboards with other groups, you will need to assign different levels of permissions to those users.

Permissions

  • Use Only: Users can only use the resource in a limited way, such as building Klips. They may not make edit or share the resource with other users.
  • Use and Edit: Users have full privileges associated with the resource and may use, update, edit, share, or delete the resource.

Visibility

  • Add to dashboards (required): The dashboard is shared with all users in a group.  Users are not able to remove this dashboard.
  • Add to dashboards: The dashboard is shared with all new users in a group. Users are able to remove this dashboard.
  • Add to library only: The dashboard is available for selection from the Library.

Sharing dashboards

You can either share a dashboard from the Library or from the Dashboard page.

To share from the Library

  1. Click the Library link on the dashboard welcome page.
  2. Select the Dashboards Tab.
  3. Click the appropriate dashboard.
  4. Click the Edit link beside the Sharing heading.
  5. Click the Sharing link.
  6. Click the Share this dashboard link.
  7. Select one or more Groups under the Sharing heading.
  8. Determine the Rights to be associated with each group.
  9. Click the Save button.

The dashboard is shared with the specified groups and will appear in those groups’ Library.

To share a dashboard from your account

  1. Click the dashboard's menu button.
  2. Select Share from the menu.
  3. Select Share with groups ... .
  4. Select one or more Groups under the Sharing heading.
  5. Determine the Rights to be associated with each group.
  6. Click the Save button.

The dashboard is shared with the specified groups and will appear in those groups’ Library.

What's next?

Did you have trouble with the material in this article?

These articles may help:

Dashboard management

  1. Beta: Free public links
  2. Publish links
  3. NEW: What’s the difference between viewing a dashboard in the app and viewing a published link to a dashboard?
  4. Use RiseVision to display your Klipfolio dashboard on big screen TVs or digital wallboards
  5. Updates to Klipfolio user permissions
  6. Generate a Klipfolio API Key
  7. Push API deprecation, October 30, 2015
  8. Klipfolio is rebranding
  9. NEW: Best Practices for Large Screen Dashboard Display
  10. Guide to displaying Klipfolio Dashboards on a Large Screen Display
  11. Dashboard design considerations
  12. NEW: Working with Company Properties
  13. Authenticating with Google
  14. Adding a custom role and users
  15. Adding new users
  16. Annotations
  17. Building dashboards
  18. Checklist for adding new users
  19. Creating groups and setting default dashboards
  20. NEW: Removing a Klip, dashboard or data source from the Library
  21. Displaying Klips in full screen mode
  22. Downloading a Klip to your computer
  23. Downloading a dashboard and all of its Klips to your computer
  24. Whitelist IP Addresses
  25. Emailing a Klip
  26. Emailing a dashboard and all of its Klips
  27. Sending Scheduled Email Reports of Klips with variables
  28. Embedding a Klip into an HTML page
  29. NEW: Best practices for generating PDF reports
  30. Options for launching Klipfolio
  31. Removing a user from a custom role
  32. Removing a custom role
  33. Setting up an IP address range in Klipfolio
  34. Sharing data sources
  35. Sharing Klips
  36. Sharing dashboards
  37. Dashboard permalinks
  38. User properties
  39. User roles and access permissions
  40. Viewing data source failures and refresh history for an account

Feedback and Knowledge Base